Highlights from a monumental weekend.

Just some highlights because I’ve been up before 5:30 am for the past three days.


Friday: 

Rickshawing to the train station at 6 am and seeing the skeletal bamboo structures by the side of the road transformed. I’d seen people I assumed were beggars sitting by the train tracks everyday on my way to school, and now I realized they were constructing a huge, vividly colored paper mache god, possibly for the upcoming holiday of Dusshera.

Using the train bathroom. I didn’t know what to expect but I shouldn’t have been surprised to see the train tracks rushing by through the toilet hole.

Almost accepting the spectacle that was 13 white girls attempting to travel as a group. Not a necessarily a highlight…

Arriving at the guesthouse. It was located in the “pollution free” zone around the Taj Mahal, meaning no autos or cars were allowed in the area. The streets were the tiniest bit quieter, and we were so glad to relax in the guesthouse’s secluded courtyard.

Taking the bus to Fatehpur Sikri, a smaller town 45 minutes away from Agra. One of the other girls actually got handed a baby, making it a true India experience. Also the sweatiest part of the weekend, which is really saying something.

Observing the actual practicing Muslims at the mosque in Fatepur Sikri, with their white caps and robes, sitting behind baskets full of magenta flower petals.

Attempting to ward off the hawkers by pretending to not speak English. And failing because when I pretended to speak Spanish instead, the kid actually knew Spanish, and when I tried French with a different man, he knew French, blowing my cover…


Saturday:

Sliding through the hotel’s locked gate at 5:45 am to get to the Taj Mahal at sunrise. And not letting the random man on the other side of the gate hold my purse as I hopped over.

Seeing the Taj Mahal. There aren’t really any words to describe the experience.

Mastering my poker face as various street hawkers harass me for a postcard, rickshaw ride, etc. Becoming better at bargaining. Overall getting closer to becoming a pro at this India thing.

Visiting the Agra Fort and escaping the crowds for a little while.

Eating dinner on a rooftop overlooking the Taj as the call to prayer rung out over the city.

Sunday:

Wearing my sleep sheet on the 5 am train and shamelessly becoming a large pink blob.

Getting off the train in Jaipur. For the first time since we’ve been here, it wasn’t (too) humid and the breeze reminded me of a spring day in LA.

Studying and relaxing for most of the day at my home stay.

Discovering a Target-esque store and coffee shop around the corner from my apartment complex.

Getting henna done at an event at my apartment building after my home stay mom yelled at me to “be bold! be bold! be bold!” The event was basically just a massive advertisement for a new car that masqueraded as a block party mixed with a carnival mixed with an elementary/middle school dance. It was bizarre and confusing.

Above all, getting a normal night’s sleep tonight before starting another week!!

2 thoughts on “Highlights from a monumental weekend.

  1. Pingback: A foreign holiday in a foreign land. | Sarah's Foreign Eyes

Leave a comment